//
you're reading...
Poetry, Writing

Ode to a poetry hater

Thanks to blue sky infinite for forwarding the following prompt from Napowrimo (another project that I knew nothing about).

I’m just doing this for the fun of it, because I’m less afraid of poems.

And now, our prompt! Continuing with the theme of firsts, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem that has the same first line as another poem.

Ode to a poetry hater

by Rosalyn Hunter

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?

I think not because you’re not into it.

Though some love those who have sweet words to say.

I know that sweet talk will give you a fit.

If I say ‘Lo’, you will refuse a date,

and you’re too hot a find to let pass by.

So I won’t cry and moan about my fate,

Instead I’ll man-up like some average guy.

In truth I have a rare poetic soul

and once it would have meant a dozen loves

but in this age of geeky science nerds

no one has time to harp on turtle doves.

So long as people loathe to write verse free,

So long will I, a hidden poet be.

Shall I compare thee to a summer's day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate.
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer's lease hath all too short a date.
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimmed;
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature's changing course, untrimmed;
But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow'st,
Nor shall death brag thou wand'rest in his shade,
When in eternal lines to Time thou grow'st.
     So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,
     So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.
About rozzychan

Rosalyn Hunter is the principal writer on the series Lunatics. Please support us. http://lunatics.tv

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: April 1, 2013 – Poem #1 | Brighterdays Blog - April 9, 2013

Leave a Reply

